Thiruvananthapuram Diocese and Parishes

Diocese History

Diocese Metropolitan

Parishes in the Diocese


History of the Diocese

It was on 1 January 1979 during the administrative tenure of His Holiness Baselios Mar Thoma Mathews I, Catholicos of the East that the Thiruvananthapuram Dioceses was started with Geevarghese Mar Dioscorus as its first metropolitan. From 1986 onwards, the orthodox Center at Ulloor serves as the Bishop House. The diocese has 102 Churches, one Cathedral and five Chapels. It has one Ramban, four Cor- Episcopas, sixty-one priests, eight deacons and 12 Seminarians. It has a Balabhavan for the handicapped. At Edamulaikal, Palavila, Malayinkezhu and Checotah Mission Centers are under operation. Taborgiri Holy Cross convent, Training School for the Mentally Retarded, three Tailoring Schools and one High School are some of the important institutions of the Dioceses. The Bishop House at Ulloor consists of an Office room, Aramana, a Chapel and a Conference Hall.